Skip to main content

What is a national park?

What is a national park?

In the UK, national parks are areas of exceptional natural beauty which benefit from special protection and management, with great opportunities for everyone to enjoy the outdoors.

There are 14 national parks in the UK, three of which are in Wales: the Brecon Beacons, Snowdonia and the Pembrokeshire Coast.

The national park authorities are here to:

  • Conserve and enhance the natural beauty, wildlife and cultural heritage of the parks
  • Promote understanding and enjoyment of their special qualities
  • Foster the social and economic wellbeing of the communities within their boundaries

Dedicated teams look after the countryside and built environment in partnership with many others. But we all have a part to play in shaping the landscape by getting actively involved in protecting its special qualities and planning its future.

About the Brecon Beacons National Park Authority

The Brecon Beacons National Park Authority is a special purpose local authority operating within local government. With support from expert staff, its members are responsible for making decisions, setting policies and priorities and ensuring best use of resources.

Two thirds of members are appointed by unitary authorities within the boundary of our Park and one third are appointed by the Welsh Assembly Government.

Much of the Authority's work is carried out in partnership with other public bodies which also have a duty to take account of National Park purposes in their decisions.


Subscribe for latest news, updates & special offers